Cloonacool village has within its environs three rivers; the Mad River, the Berna River and the river Moy. In former times, there was a mill situated on each of the rivers. The tumbledown ruins of one of these still remains today. Known as Doyle’s Mill, it was the site of a thriving industry, supported by local people. Farmers came in droves to have their sheaves of corn milled. The mill was built on a bank of the Mad River which still cascades in magnificent glory down the slopes of the Ox mountain at Cloonacool and is one of the major tributaries of the river Moy.
Cloonacool village was also once a thriving industrial location and economic hub. It encompassed nine or ten shops, the main one belonging to the Brennan family. As mentioned, it also was the proud owner of three mills, Doyle’s mill, a mill on the Berna river, near the new school, and Moran’s Mill on the river Moy itself, next to the bridge on the Tubbercurry road. The same townland also had its own shoemaker, weaver, stone-mason, ‘poet-laureate’, dancing teacher, carpenter, potter and a highly acclaimed music band, formed during the second half of the 19th century.
The sporting tradition of the parish is also a defining feature. A Gaelic football team founded in 1916 continues to this day. Camogie, handball and athletics also provided energetic pastime and brought renown to the parish over the years. A vibrant drama group, a lively music session in the local pub and a weekly game of ‘25’ at the Community Centre continue as pursuits that reflect old times yet continue point the way forward.